jump to navigation

On the Toilet During the Earthquake? October 31, 2007

Posted by chuckwh in earthquake, News and politics, South Bay.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

If you’ve ever wondered what it’s like to be on the toilet during an earthquake, the results are in. That’s where I was during tonight’s 5.8 shaker. I think the most important thing you need to keep in mind if you’re in that situation is that you need to stay focused. I was done with my duties, and was just beginning the clean up process when I heard a large rumble. Then I thought I heard giant footsteps clomping on the roof. “Okay,” I thought, “we’re being invaded by aliens. Gotta finish this off before I worry about it too much.”

One step at a time, I always say. I’m usually a decent multi-tasker, but this is one occasion that really requires focus. As I saw the shower curtain shake and felt the ground underneath me roll like a wave, I knew it was a quake. My clean up activity became a bit more frenzied, but I stuck to my task at hand, my biggest fear being buried alive with my pants down.

So, if you ever find yourself on the toilet during an earthquake, stay focused. If you’re gonna get buried by rubble, you don’t want people to dig you out and find you with a messy behind and your pants bunched at your ankles, your broken hand weakly clinging to a filthy piece of toilet paper. Chances are, running out with your pants wrapped around your legs is not going to get you very far anyway. So your very first effort should be to clean up, then deal with the ensuing calamity.

Luckily, in this case, there was no calamity. But I think my instincts were sound, and I’ll sleep well tonight knowing I wouldn’t have done anything different no matter the severity.

Comments»

1. Your Mum. - November 18, 2007

Hahahhahahahahahaahahhahhahahah
ahaahhahaahahhahahahahahahahaha
hahhaahahahahhaahahahahahahahah


Leave a Reply

