jump to navigation

Does Your President Reflect? January 9, 2007

Posted by chuckwh in News and politics.
trackback

As the State of the Union speech approaches, I thought this would be a good time for us to ask our next president, whoever she/he is, “Do you take time to reflect?”

What exactly IS reflection? Does it mean you take a moment to think about how to explain your actions? Or is it something more meaningful? Like, is what you are doing something that other people of good conscience would do?

Do you think of that? Do you, we should ask, ponder such things as dogma or recalcitrance?

Reflection, to me, is related to survival. I’m no big dog in this area, but I swear, reflection has saved me so much grief that I simply don’t have time to describe it. Or even reflect on it very much. As a result, sometimes I do and say really stupid things. But still, even when that happens, I sometimes think a bit and wonder, “what if I had not?”

I don’t think it is asking much of a president to do the same.

I am not sure, among the candidates who are about to be crowned front runners, which of them take the time to really reflect on things. Obviously, one of them, Obama, who has taken enough time to reflect on things to write two books full of reflection, seems on first glance to be someone who reflects deeply. But how do we know if he is done or not?

So we need to ask this of ourselves, not of our presidential candidates. We need to think, for once, deeply, about who we vote for.

We need to reflect. Only then will we know whether or not the person we vote for is a reflection of ourselves that we can be proud of.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

