jump to navigation

Why I Want to Vote Republican October 26, 2006

Posted by chuckwh in News and politics.
trackback

I remember growing up a Republican. I am not sure what that means, other than the awful truths that other people, like me, can describe.

I guess, in a way, it’s like growing up Roman Catholic.

Anyway, for me, it means that I grew up trying to avoid punishment. If you’re a bad boy, well, you’ll be called out. Quickly.

We didn’t, in my day, have Harry Potter to save us. It just was.

As the congressional elections approach, I consider, not only my own Republican past, but my past, in general, and I remember that my Republican past was not as harsh as the current Republican present makes it out to be.

I rembember my Republican past and I think of my parents, and I think of Ike. And then I think. You know what?

The Republicans I grew up with, my parents, in other words, were not bastards. They were not invasion fanatics.

They weren’t insane.

My parents believed in these people for a reason.

Richard Nixon, actually, was an anomaly. He was a crook in a world of people who had intense values.

And I’m not talking about evangelical shit. I mean, if you are for that, fine, but don’t vote Republican cuz, well, they’ve blown your ass into the pasture.

No. My parents believed in something real.

Hell.

I don’t even know what the hell they believed in. All I know is they loved Ike. And FDR, too.

So something is wrong. I think I know what it is, and I think the name, and the concept here, says it all.

And, please, tell me that I’m wrong, but we are running out of time.

Which is fine, I guess. I can make other plans.

Maybe the “Gore Years” was a bad idea.

I know, for sure, that the only people reading this are, probably, a lot smarter than I am.

It’s enough to make you wonder about the next Malthusian event.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

